BlueBell Golf Society Charity

Over the years many thousands of pounds have been raised in support of various charities as listed below. Traditionaly the serving captain will nominate his charity of choice and throughout the year all funds raised will be donated.

The main fund raising event this year will be a golf day at Blackley golf club. General information can be found below, further detail will be posted when finalised.

Charity Golf Day - Fri 14th July 2017

Past Charities

Year Charity Captain
2014 Rotary Foundation. Dr Frank Hauxwell
2013 MacMillan Cancer Support Barry Wilson
2012 Christie at Oldham J.J.Byrne
2011 Christie at Oldham P.Holden
2010 Springhill Hospice. G. Clarke
2009 Prostate Cancer. C.Thompson.
2008 B.G.C. Juniors Section. D.Bamber
2007 Blind Children Aid J. Meehan.
2006 Booth Hall ward 12. M. Hurst.
2005 Blackley Golf Club. L.Heneghan
2004 Alexian Bros. Home. H.Ingham
2003 Geoff Taylor Appeal. S. Newton.
2002 Pendlebury Childrens Hosp. T.Brown
2001 Prostate Cancer. G. Stroud.
2000 Catholic Childrens Resue D.Parkinson
1999 Fairfield Baby Unit. R. Burns.
1998 The Ticker Club. K. Bolger.
1997 St Marys/Prostate Cancer. A.Hough
1996 Blind Society. B. Sheridan.
1995 Middleton Hospice. H. Withington.
1994 Roy Castle Appeal. J. Atkinson.
1993 Guide Dogs for Blind. A.Wood
1992 C. Little Appeal. A. Garside.
1991 Adult T. C. B. Window.
1990 Alexian Bros. Home. J. Cuppello.
1989 Booth Hall. A. Evans.
1988 Booth Hall. L. Platt..
1987 Rescue. G. McGowan.
1986 Parkside. M. Black.
1985 Lancaster House. D. Horner.
1984 Little Sisters. M. Lupton.
1983 Blackley G.C. S. Dawson.
1982 Reach. G. Clarke.

Upcoming Events


Spring Comp

Thu, 21 May 2015

Venue: Reddish Vale G.C.

Winner: TBA
Runner-up: TBA
Third: TBA
Fourth: TBA

Don Hayes

Thu, 25 Jun 2015

Venue: Cleckheaton & District G.C.

Winner: Pat McGarry 36pts
Runner-up: Alan Garside 34pts
Third: Peter Killcommon 31pts
Fourth: Frank Hauxwell 31pts

Ex Captains Niblick

Fri, 24 Jul 2015

Venue: Warrington G.C.

Winner: Norman Morris 39pts
Runner-up: Alan Mayoh 39pts
Third: Garry Baldwin 38pts
Fourth: Peter Killcommon 38pts

Captains Cup

Fri, 14 Aug 2015

Venue: Huddersfield G.C.

Winner: Cliff Barrett net 70
Runner-up: Steve Newton net 71
Third: Joey Byrne net 74
Fourth: Garry Baldwin net 76

Newcastle day1

Sun, 06 Sep 2015

Venue: Chester-le-Street G.C.

Winner: Steve Newton , Darren Hoolickin Gareth Morris & Keith Liddle

Newcastle day2

Mon, 07 Sep 2015

Venue: Whickham G.C.

Winner: Peter Holden,Keith Liddle Steve Hamlett & Alan Garside

Newcastle day3

Tue, 08 Sep 2015

Venue: Brancepeth Castle G.C.

Winner: Steve Newton & Joey Byrne
Runner-up: Darren Hoolickin & Neil Murray

Newcastle day4

Wed, 09 Sep 2015

Venue: Beamish Park G.C.

Winner: Andy O'Neill, Chris Bloomfield Cliff Barrett & Danny Speight